Facebook: how to delete the account

Facebook is currently the most used social network in the world. With over 2 billion subscribers, it undoubtedly places itself in the Olympus of the web giants. Thanks to the acquisition over the years of Instagram and Whatsapp and the appearance of Messenger, Mark Zuckerberg has secured the monopoly of the social and messaging world.

If you have reached this page it is because, most likely, you have decided to want to take a break from this social network. Quiet, it is something that often happens. That is why, in this guide, I will try to explain how to delete your Facebook account .

Before you start, however, it is good that you know that the operation is irreversible and you will lose all data associated with your account. Therefore, I recommend that you consider simply deactivating your account and, in any case, download a copy of your data. I bet, in fact, that you would not want to lose videos and photos accumulated over the years of using the platform.

Index of contents

Difference between deactivating and deleting Facebook accounts

As I said in the preface, Facebook offers you the possibility to temporarily deactivate your account . Before moving on to the definitive deletion, therefore, it is good that I explain to you the differences between the two methods.

It often happens, in fact, to act in a rush and decide to delete your account and then regret it when it is too late. So let’s see the substantial differences between the two procedures:

By deactivating your account

  • You can reactivate it at any time
  • Nobody will be able to look for you or know that you have only deactivated your account
  • Your dashboard will not be reachable by third parties
  • Some information may remain visible to other people (especially the messages you have sent).

Deleting your account

  • You will no longer be able to access your data
  • The actual deletion will take place a few days away from your request and during this short time you can retrace your steps
  • Your board will not be reachable by third parties
  • Some information may remain visible to other people (especially the messages you have sent).
  • The operation is irreversible and once the procedure is finished You won’t be able to get your account back

Good. You should now have a fairly clear overview of the options available to you. Below I will try to explain how to carry out both operations, both through the PC and via a Smartphone.

Obviously you will be able to carry out the procedures, only after logging in with your account.

How to temporarily deactivate your Facebook account

If you have decided to temporarily deactivate your account and therefore do not give it up at the same time, you will have to follow the steps I am about to list you .

I remind you that, by carrying out this operation, your friends will no longer be able to search for or reach your wall, however some information, such as chats, will still be visible to third parties.

From PC

Here are the steps you will need to do to temporarily disable your Facebook account from PC :

  • Reach the Facebook website by typing “facebook.com” in the address bar of your browser.
  • Click on the last ic at the top right (Arrow pointing down)
  • Click on Settings and Privacy
  • Click on Settings
  • From the page that opens, click on Facebook information in the left column
  • Click on the item Deactivation and deletion at the bottom right
  • Select the item Deactivate account
  • Click on the Continue button to deactivate the account
  • Enter your Password to confirm

Perfect. The account is now properly deactivated. You can still continue to access and view your data. You will no longer be searchable by third parties and your board will no longer be available. Photos and videos posted by third parties in which you are tagged will still be visible on Facebook.

When, and if you wish, you can reactivate your account by reaching the same window of settings that we have seen.

From Mobile

The procedure I have listed is valid for desktop devices. We will now see how to deactivate a Facebook account from mobile . Nothing prevents you, however, from performing the same procedure I showed you, valid for desktop. Just open the browser with your smartphone (for example Google Chrome), go to the browser settings and request the desktop version of the facebook.com website

If you are using the Facebook mobile application for Android or iOS, the procedure is slightly different. Here are the operations you will need to do to temporarily disable your account through the Facebook app :

  • Open l ‘app of Facebook on your smartphone
  • Tap the hamburger menu at the top right
  • Go to Settings and Privacy
  • Tap Settings
  • Tap Account ownership and control
  • Tap on Deactivate and delete
  • Select on Deactivate account
  • Click on Continue to deactivate your account
  • Enter your Password to confirm

You have deactivated your account through the Facebook mobile application. The procedure is very similar on both Android and iOS. Now, if you want, you can uninstall the Facebook app and free up space on your device.

How to permanently delete your Facebook account

We saw the first together procedure, the one that we could call more light and that allows you to retrace your steps in a fairly simple way. Now let’s see together how to permanently remove a Facebook account .

As I said in the preface, once you have done this, you will have a short period of time (in the order of a few days ), to return to your choices. Once the time of limbo is over your account will be removed and your data will no longer be available.

From PC

Here, below, the steps you will need to take to delete your Facebook account from your PC :

  • Reach the website Facebook by typing “facebook.com” in the address bar of your browser.
  • Click on the last icon at the top right (Arrow pointing down)
  • Click on Settings and Privacy
  • Click on Settings
  • From the page that opens, click on The information on Facebook that you find in the left column
  • Click on the item Deactivation and elimination that you find at the bottom right
  • Select the item Delete account
  • Click on the Continue button to delete the account
  • Enter your Password to confirm

From now on your account it will still be reachable by you for a limited period of time, in which you can perform the reverse operation and decide to reactivate it .

From Mobile

Here are the operations you will need to perform for remove your Facebook account from your smartphone through the Facebook app:

  • Open the Facebook app on the your smartphone
  • Tap the hamburger menu at the top right
  • Go to Settings and Privacy
  • Tap Settings
  • Tap Account ownership and control
  • Tap Deactivation and deletion
  • Select on Delete account
  • Click on Continue to delete the account
  • Enter your Password to confirm

How to get a copy of your data

If you wish , before deleting your account, you can download a copy of all your data. Doing it is really very simple and I recommend you do it. You could lose precious memories and information you care about.

Here, then, is the procedure you will need to perform to request a copy of your data from Facebook from your PC :

  • Reach the Facebook website by typing “facebook.com” in the address bar of your browser.
  • Click on the last icon at the top right (Arrow pointing down)
  • Click on Settings and Privacy
  • Click on Settings
  • From the page that opens, click on Facebook information in the left column
  • Click on the item Download your information on the right
  • Select the options you are interested in
  • Click on the button Create file

To learn more about this specific topic, I suggest you read my dedicated guide in which I explain how to do it on all platforms.

Conclusions

As we have seen, Facebook allows us to delete our data in a very simple way. We have two options: permanently delete the account, or decide to temporarily disable it.

I always recommend that you choose the second option. Sometimes we find ourselves in a period of our life in which we want to switch off , but we often retrace our steps. Depriving yourself of a platform like Facebook, in fact, is not at all easy. If one day you want to return to the social network and want to do it anonymously, I suggest you take a look at this guide to do it.

If you know other simple methods to carry out the operations I have described, feel free to write me and I’ll be happy to update this list.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *