Are you tired of Instagram and want to know how to delete your account permanently ? Read this step by step guide to find out how it removes your account from instagram databases forever.
Instagram, like its parent company Facebook, is no stranger to the weird privacy scandal .
At the end of 2018, a security flaw was found in the Instagram feature “ Download your data “, which leaked user passwords in plain text.
Ironic, because this feature was introduced to improve security and protect user privacy after the Cambridge Analytica incident.
After it emerged the password leak, Instagram was quick to announce that only a small number of users were at risk and that the problem was resolved quickly. However, there are many other ways that Instagram poses a threat to your privacy.
For example, Instagram’s default automatically tracks your location, unless do not disable it manually.
This data is used to show you advertisements related to the location where you live. In addition, Instagram shares your in-app activity , such as likes, comments, your interaction with stories, etc. With other users.
Then there was the update to their direct message service which arrived in early 2018. It wasn’t just the “viewed” notification or the typing bubble to upset users, but the notification of the activity on the status.
Now Instagram lets users know when you are active and also the last time you logged in. This feature is a default setting, but can be disabled in the “ Privacy and security ” section of the account settings.
If you want to put less information about yourself online, you may want to consider deleting or deactivating your social media accounts. This article will show you how to permanently delete an Instagram account.
Deactivation vs deletion: what you need to know
You can either deactivate or permanently delete your Instagram account, depending on your preferences.
Deactivating the account is temporary , but while it is deactivated, your account, together to your profile, followers, photos, likes and comments will be hidden from other users . To restore all this information and start using Instagram normally, simply log into your account.
Deleting your Instagram account is irreversible : a deleted account cannot be restored. When you delete your Instagram account, all your data, including photos, followers, likes, etc. They will be permanently deleted from the Instagram database . In the future, if you want to sign up for Instagram again, you will no longer be able to use the same username, nor can anyone else.
Deactivate an Instagram account
It is not possible to deactivate Instagram via the app, you must do this on a web browser on the Instagram website. If you want to take a break from Instagram, you can deactivate your account by following these steps:
- On the Instagram website, log into your account and click on your photo icon to go to the page of your profile.
- Select “ Edit profile “, scroll to the bottom of the page and click on “ Temporarily deactivate my account “.
- You will be asked “ Why are you disabling your account ? “, Select any reason from the drop-down menu.
- Re-enter your password and select” Deactivate account temporarily ” .
- Your account is now deactivated and will be hidden from other users until you log in again . NOTE: According to Instagram’s usage policy, you can only deactivate your Instagram account once a week.
Download your personal data span >
After you delete your Instagram account, all your data will be erased forever and cannot be recovered.
Therefore, you may want to download your Instagram data before deleting your account , so that you still have all your photos, videos, etc. That you have published over time. To download a copy of your data follow these steps:
- Go to your Instagram profile and select “ Settings ” (gear icon).
- Click on the “ Privacy and security ” tab, then click on “ Request download “.
- Enter your email address you wish to receive a link to your Instagram data, followed by your password.
- Within 48 hours you should receive an email with a link to download your data, with the subject ” Your Instagram data “. Click on “ Download data “.
Step by step guide: how to delete an Instagram account
As with deactivation, you can only delete an Instagram account via a web browser . To permanently delete your Instagram account, follow these simple steps:
Log into your account on the Instagram website.
Go to the “Delete your account” page on Instagram. From the drop-down menu select the reason for the cancellation.
Insert your password and click on “ Permanently delete my account “.
Your Instagram account has been permanently deleted.
Other ways to keep your data safe
Many of us use a service cloud storage to back up our important data and / or to archive files. If you use one of these storage services, choose one that automatically encrypts your files . However, because the cloud provider holds the key to your encryption, they may be able to access your data and even share it with government authorities upon their request.
You can work around this by manually encrypting your files before uploading them to the cloud . Therefore, you will be the only one who holds the key to your data . Your cloud provider will not have access, as long as you don’t also upload the encryption keys to the cloud.
There are a number of free encryption programs that are easy to use, even if you have no previous experience in manually encrypting data.
Choose encryption software that is compatible with your computer, mobile operating systems, and your cloud storage provider. Your encryption program should also have a end-to-end encryption and should never store your password.
In these days, it’s important to do everything possible to stay safe on social media and avoid becoming a victim of cybercriminals
If you want to delete your Facebook profile as well, check out our step-by-step instructions .