How to tell if someone has restricted you on Instagram

You use Instagram on a daily basis and so far you have never had any problems using what you are its main features. Recently, however, you have noticed that something is wrong: you are no longer able to interact as before with a user and you suspect that you have been limited by the latter.

How do you say? That’s exactly how things are and, therefore, you wonder how to understand if someone has restricted you on Instagram ? If so, don’t worry, as I’m here to help you. In the next chapters of this guide, in fact, I will explain in detail how to succeed in your intent through some features made available directly by well-known photographic social network.

If, therefore, you can’t wait to find out more, sit down comfortably and just take a few minutes of free time, in order to put into practice the procedures I am about to give you. You will see that, with a little luck, you will be able to reach the goal you have set for yourself. At this point, all I have to do is wish you a good read and good luck for everything!

Index

Preliminary information

Instagram app

Before I explain how to tell if someone has restricted you on Instagram , I need to give you some preliminary information about it.

First of all, you must know that the limitation is an Instagram feature that each user of the social network can use to limit the interactions of other people towards him: the limited user, in fact, he will not be able to know if the user who applied the restriction is online and if he has read his private messages .

Also, when you restrict a person’s interactions, you won’t receive notifications about his comments under his posts (which will only be visible to him and will instead be hidden to all other users of the social network).

Having said that, you should know that the limitation functionality is removable at any time and that the hidden comments can be manually approved by the user who imposed the restriction, so that they are visible to all.

But there is an official solution for to know if you have been restricted on Instagram ? Unfortunately – or fortunately – no. However, as I will explain to you in the next chapters of this guide, by using an alternative account it is possible to carry out some checks and find out with reasonable certainty whether you have been subject to restrictions by other users or not. For all the details keep reading.

How to understand who has limited you on Instagram

Having made the necessary premises above, let’s see how to create a secondary account on Instagram and, therefore, find out if the main one has been subject to limitations by other users of the social network.

So, if you haven’t done it yet, take action to open the Instagram app for Android or iPhone, press on your name located on the main screen of the social network and tap on the items Add account> Create new account .

Proceed, therefore, to create an Instagram account following the instructions on the screen and it will be automatically added to the app, allowing you to easily switch from one profile to another (just tap on his name trong>).

At this point, follow the instructions I am about to give you and check the sections of Instagram affected by a possible limitation, in order to be able to evaluate if your main account has been affected or not.

Check comments

Controllare i commenti

To find out if someone has restricted you on Instagram you can First check, with your second account, the comments related to the posts of the person you think has restricted you.

As explained above, if you had previously commented on the post of a user who then applied limitations to your account, you should not be able to find your comment among those published (as, in case of actual limitation, it should have been automatically filtered and hidden from other users of the social network ork).

If you do not know how to access the comments of a post on Instagram, locate, through the search engine of the social network (the icon magnifying glass ) the profile of the user that you think has limited you, tap on his name and press first on the post of yours interest and then on the corresponding icon of the comic , to see all comments.

In case you can’t find the comment you previously posted with your main account, it is possible that you have actually been restricted.

Check your activity status

Controllare lo stato di attività

Another solution you can put in place , to check if your main account has been restricted is to check the activity status of the person you think has restricted you.

As explained in the previous chapter, in fact, if you have been restricted on Instagram you will not be able to see the activity status of the user who has the restriction has been implemented.

Therefore, first check that it is active, on your main account, but also in your secondary account, through the section Settings> Privacy> Activity status , the ability to show the activity status for your account by moving the relative lever to ON . Otherwise, due to a reciprocity condition, you will not be able to see the activity status of other users.

Once this is done, locate via chat by Instagram (the section with the airplane icon ), the user you think has restricted you.

If this restriction has indeed occurred, you may not be able to see its activity status with your primary account, but if you switch to your secondary account, that information should be visible instead. >

Check messages

Controllare i messaggi

To check if someone has restricted you on Instagram you can also check the private messages , to see if they are displayed with a second account.

Indeed, if you have sent a private message with your main account au n user and it’s been a long time without you having received a reply, and besides the message is still not displayed, you may have actually been restricted on Instagram.

To dispel this doubt, locate the user of your interest through the Instagram search engine (the magnifying glass icon) and write him a private message by tapping the Message button located next to his profile.

Then type the text of the message in the text field Write a message and press the Send button to send it. If you receive a reply, or if the message appears to be displayed, then this could be a potential confirmation of what your suspicions are.

Salvatore Aranzulla

Salvatore Aranzulla is the most widely read blogger and IT popularizer in Italy. He is known for discovering vulnerabilities in Google and
Microsoft. He collaborates with computer magazines and edited the technological column of the newspaper Il Messaggero. He is the founder of Aranzulla.it, one of the
thirty most visited sites in Italy, in which he responds with simplicity to thousands of computer-related doubts. He has published for Mondadori and
Mondadori Informatica.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *