LinkedIn: how to delete the account

If you have reached this page it is because, most likely, you are looking for a quick guide to delete your LinkedIn account . Don’t worry, it is a very simple operation to perform. Today we will see together how to unsubscribe from LinkedIn and remove all information about us from this social network.

Before removing your account from LinkedIn, it is good that you know that it is of an irreversible action and, once performed, you will no longer be able to access your data. If you want to re-register in the future, you will be forced to re-enter the information. We will see below some exceptions to this rule.

Think carefully about what you are doing, therefore, and remember that LinkedIn always remains the best social network in the world for finding a new job opportunity, as well as for staying updated on news concerning your specific professional sector.

If you are thinking of unsubscribing because you have not obtained any feedback in the workplace, first I suggest you take a look at this guide, in which I will explain how create a successful Linkedin profile. Linkedin is an extremely powerful social network that allows you to share skills, updates and stories with your network of contacts.

If, on the other hand, you are simply unable to access your account, before deleting it I recommend that you try to reset your password.

Good. If you are still willing to remove your data and delete your LinkedIn profile , you can continue reading and do so through the tips I am about to share with you.

Table of contents

Delete the LinkedIn account from the PC

First, let’s see how to do this from the desktop, so here are the steps to delete the account LinkedIn from PC :

  • Click on the You icon. You’ll find it at the top of your LinkedIn homepage.
  • Select Settings & Privacy from the drop-down menu.
  • Under the Account Management section on the Account tab , click Change next to LinkedIn account termination
  • Choose your reason for you want to close your account and click on Next.
  • For security reasons, you will need to enter your account password and click on Close account.

Please note: This operation is irreversible however, in most cases, you will be able to reopen your account within 20 days of its closure . You will still lose some information contained in your account, for example:

  • Skills confirmations and reports
  • Ignored or pending invitations
  • Followed items
  • Group subscriptions

Delete the LinkedIn account from Smartphone

LinkedIn, like all the most used social networks, also provides the possibility of using its services through a convenient application , available for both Android and iOS operating systems. If you don’t have the ability to use a PC, you can also do this by simply using your smartphone. So let’s see below how to do it from a mobile device.

Android

Here are the steps you will need to perform to remove the LinkedIn account on Android :

  • Tap your profile photo.
  • Tap the Settings icon in the upper right corner of your profile.
  • On the Account tab, tap Close account.
  • Tap Continue to proceed with closing your account.
  • Tap the reason why you want to close your account and then click Next.
  • For security reasons, you will need to enter your account password and tap on Done.

Now, if you want, you can uninstall simply your application.

iOS

Even on iOS operating systems, the operation is very simple. Here are all the steps to remove your LinkedIn account on iOS :

  • Tap your profile photo.
  • Tap the Settings icon in the upper right corner of your profile.
  • On the Account tab, tap Close account .
  • Tap Continue to proceed with closing your account.
  • Tap the reason why you want to close the your account and then on Next .
  • For security reasons, you will need to enter your account password and tap on Done .

Perfect. Your account has now been completely deleted. You just have to uninstall the LinkedIn application if you want.

Conclusions

As we have seen, LinkedIn is a social network that allows us to keep in touch with friends and colleagues and improve our professionalism, also through similar software, such as LinkedIn Learning.

However, events may arise in the course of our life that lead us to make drastic choices, including completely remove our data from the platform in question.

It may seem strange, but there are many people who decide to unsubscribe every day.

why? I think the most common reason is that people tend to join LinkedIn and use its services only when they are looking for a new job opportunity. Once they get a new assignment, they tend to lose interest in the platform, thus leaving their profiles in a state of complete abandonment.

My advice is to always take care of your LinkedIn profile and to create a company profile if necessary.

LinkedIn, in fact, is not just a platform that helps you in the search for new professional opportunities. Within the platform you can find a world of professionals similar to you and you can improve your skills day after day.

Finally, if you are thinking of abandoning the well-known social network because a contact is unwanted, I recommend you to simply block the person in question, rather than deleting your account.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *